Silence

16 12 2015

This weeks lesson is all about Silence. For me, I go to the cemetery for Silence.

December 12, 2015 was National Wreaths Across America day (http://www.wreathsacrossamerica.org/). Thousands of volunteers laid wreaths in Arlington National Cemetery and many other cemeteries across the USA. There were ceremonies in Raleigh at Historic Oakwood Cemetery. I went there today to take some photos.

On Saturday we were in Columbia, SC for our friends wedding. The hotel we stayed in is near Fort Jackson. I started to notice young men in wheelchairs passing through the lobby. I saw one young man walking on two prosthetic legs. We think that they were in the area to participate in the Wreath ceremony at Fort Jackson. I thank these young men and women who serve our country to keep us safe. I just wish they didn’t have to. A Moment of Silence to all who have served. I used Photomatix to make an HDR image and used Lightroom and PSE to remove all of the color except red and green. You can see more photos on my flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

Ruth-EllenFlanagan_Silence_2267

This is a photo of one of the trucks leaving Maine, which are carrying the wreaths (taken by my cousin Steve Smith).

WreathsAcrossAmericaTrucks

Other photos from Historic Oakwood:

Actions

Information

One response

20 12 2015
needlepointernc

Judith Baker Montanoon Dec 18
Ruth-Ellen: Your photograph is very poignant to be sure.

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanaganon Dec 18
We too saw the changing of the guard in the early spring. The dedication and precision with which they march is amazing. The sight of that many wreaths must be something to see.

Monica Joneson Dec 17
Ruth-Ellen we seem to keep crossing paths, first Boston and now DC. I was at Arlington last Friday as they were in the process of laying all the wreaths. I would have used one of my photos also if I had been there on Sunday. What an amazing site. We were fortunate enough to see the changing of the guard at the tomb of the unknown soldier. I love the way you edited your photo. Very powerful image.

Wendy Hodinaon Dec 17
The selective color is really nice here and the bit of blur in the background makes the scene fade away in silence.

chrismaheron Dec 17
The photo is really well done, though I do find the words distracting. I like the version without the text. I think the image says silence all on its own.

Sue Bailey Donovanon Dec 17
I like both versions. The picture with selective color speaks well by itself so I don’t think the words were necessary but The words you chose are just right.

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanaganon Dec 16
I posted a copy without the text on my flickr page. Not sure I can judge cause now I see the empty space, but both work.

Becky Goldsmithon Dec 16
This is a striking image, and well taken. I agree with Spanx6 that the use of selective color was brilliant. I would like it as much, or more, without the added text, which pulls my eye away from the gravestones.

Spanx6on Dec 16
Removing the color here and focusing on the red and green colors of the season was genius. The story is a poignant reminder that some are not here for the holiday season. I will take a silent moment to remember them and be thankful for their service to me and my country.

Leave a Reply

