Experiment

14 11 2015

This week’s lesson was about experimenting with things we haven’t done before.

I have been wanting to try adding a ghost figure to one of my cemetery pictures after seeing some of the great ghost photos in the class galleries. So, I went to Historic Oakwood Cemetery in Raleigh. There is a large Confederate burial area.
I took bracketed and panoramic photos of several different areas in the Confederate Cemetery. You can see other photos on my flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

I have been wanting to try adding a ghost figure to one of my cemetery pictures after seeing some of the great ghost photos in the class galleries. So, I went to Historic Oakwood Cemetery in Raleigh. There is a large Confederate burial area. I took bracketed and panoramic photos of several different areas in the Confederate Cemetery. You can see other photos on my flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/ and on my blog: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/ Steps for making this photo: 1. Merge bracketed photos in Photomatix. Used the default preset filter. 2. Used PSE to merge images. This one had 5 images. I had tried 7, but had too much loss at the top. Still need to work on that problem. 3. Used Lightroom to apply HDR Light Preset and a Sepia Preset to the panorama image. I downloaded the photo of the soldier from the Library of Congress Web site and used the Sepia Preset in Lightroom on it also. 4. Used PSE to merge the panorama and the soldier. I used a layer maske to remove the background around the soldier and used the Exclusion blending mode. 5. Used the Text Overlay process to add the text to the path. 6. Used PSE Guided task - Add Zoom Burst. I chose to focus the right side of the image and leave the right side blurred. Sort of to show that the soldier zoomed in from the past. 7, Used Perfect Effects to change the image to B&W. 8. Added two borders in Perfect Effects.

Steps for making this photo:
1. Merge bracketed photos in Photomatix. Used the default preset filter.
2. Used PSE to merge images. This one had 5 images. I had tried 7, but had too much loss at the top. Still need to work on that problem.
3. Used Lightroom to apply HDR Light Preset and a Sepia Preset to the panorama image. I downloaded the photo of the soldier from the Library of Congress Web site and used the Sepia Preset in Lightroom on it also.
4. Used PSE to merge the panorama and the soldier. I used a layer maske to remove the background around the soldier and used the Exclusion blending mode.
5. Used the Text Overlay process to add the text to the path.
6. Used PSE Guided task – Add Zoom Burst. I chose to focus the right side of the image and leave the right side blurred. Sort of to show that the soldier zoomed in from the past.
7, Used Perfect Effects to change the image to B&W.
8. Added two borders in Perfect Effects.

Here are a few other experiments I tried this week:

ruth-ellenFlanagan_OakwoodCemetery_9955_GraveRubbing

Used a Pencil #2 Action on an HDR version of this image to make it look like a grave rubbing.

ruth-ellenFlanagan_Experiment_ConfederateCemeteryGate

An HDR version of the Confederate Cemetery Gate in Oakwood Cemetery in Raleigh.

IMG_7455_WatermelonTwirl

This was done using the Radial Blur and Twirl Filters. The original photo ws a piece of watermelon.

Actions

Information

One response

14 12 2015
needlepointernc

Margaret McCroryon Nov 15
Great explanation Thank you!

Leave a Reply

