HDR

28 10 2015

High Dynamic Range. Take bracketed shots of a scene and then combine them. I usually cheat and use the Lightroom HDR presets. I went out to Yates Mill Park to take pictures of the Grist Mill and the Lake. Took some shots at Oakwood Cemetery too.  You can see some of my other HDR photos on my flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

Went to Yates Mill Park in south Raleigh to take some photos of the mill and the lake.  Historic Yates Mill, is the last operable water-powered gristmill in Wake County (more than 70 water mills once existed in the area). The Mill and the property surrounding it were purchased in 1963 by NC State University.  The Mill was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974 and has been restored.  I used 5 images in Photomatix and used the Creative Preset to create this image. I then used Ligtroom to reduce the blue and to subtly bring up some of the other colors. I like my HDR photos to have a gritty look.  I also took photos at the State Fair Gardens and at Historic Oakwood Cemetery. You can see some of my other HDR photos on my blog: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/ and on my flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

Went to Yates Mill Park in south Raleigh to take some photos of the mill and the lake. Historic Yates Mill, is the last operable water-powered gristmill in Wake County (more than 70 water mills once existed in the area). The Mill and the property surrounding it were purchased in 1963 by NC State University. The Mill was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974 and has been restored.
I used 5 images in Photomatix and used the Creative Preset to create this image. I then used Ligtroom to reduce the blue and to subtly bring up some of the other colors. I like my HDR photos to have a gritty look.

Some of the leaves on the trees around the lake are turning color.

Some of the leaves on the trees around the lake are turning color.

Refelction on the Lake Yates Mill Waterfall

Took these photos at the NC State Fair:

IMG_9148_49_50_tonemapped_weddingGarden_natural

This weeks class is all about creating HDR (High Dynamic Range) photos. This photo consists of 3 layers. I used Photomatix to create the HDR image. Used the Painterly preset. The photo was taken at the NC State Fair in the garden show section. I think this got a blue ribbon!

This weeks class is all about creating HDR (High Dynamic Range) photos. This photo consists of 3 layers. I used Photomatix to create the HDR image. Used the Painterly preset. The photo was taken at the NC State Fair in the garden show section. I think this got a blue ribbon!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 11 2015
needlepointernc

Zach Brunettion Oct 26
Great Job! This is a perfect example of HDR and my favorite this week 🙂

joannbon Oct 25
I love the color effects with the black and white and the tint of other colors. It works really well with this.

4 11 2015
needlepointernc

rickytims19 hours ago
I wanted to chime in on this one too – very nice effect overall – just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

