Decay

16 10 2015

Well, this week’s theme was decay. Maybe appropriate for me – it was my 60th birthday on Oct. 16th and the DMV changed my haircolor from brown to gray on their own!

I knew I wanted to revisit the Tobacco House around the corner that I photographed for the Abandoned theme week. I knew the house had more damage since I shot those photos. But little did I know that someone had set a fire there the other night. Judith Baker Montana (in my class) made a comment about a fine line between decay, abandonment, ruin etc. I see all of that in the story of this poor tobacco farm house. Tuesday night, Kevin came home and said there was a fire on Forestville Road and he had to go around to get home. I didn’t think about it until I pulled up in front of the abandoned house that I photographed for the Abandoned theme week and realized that this was where the fire was. When I took the photo for abandoned week, I took the photos from near the road. Ricky suggested that it would be interesting to get a shot through the front door if safe to do so. But, I did a bad thing and tresspassed to get these shots. I should have known that the owners lived across the street but because of the steady decline of the house, I thought no one must live near by. I was done shooting and saw the owner of the property came from his house across the street. He asked me why I would disrespect the No Tresspassing sign. I said I didn’t have an answer and apologized. I also started to cry, because that is what I do when I get confronted and because I was wrong to do what I did. I told him I usually take shots from the road and he said he was okay with that, but not with tresspassing. I told him I have been taking photos of the house since we moved to Forestville Farms 15 years ago. He said people always say they will give them photos but never do. I gave him my card and told him to email me. He hasn’t yet and will see if he does. His daddy is still alive and says they should just tear down the house and the barns. They should because they aren’t doing more than just posting a sign to keep people out. They sometimes still plant the field in front of the house. It also upsets me that there are people in our area who are destroying property this way (I added my own subtle grafitti to the house). I will never tresspass again – and I usually don’t do things like that. And I was punished because I lost my 18-55 mm on his property and could not find it today. You can see more shots on my flickr page:https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

Today is my 60th birthday. I thought I should post my renewed license for an example of decay because they changed my hair color from brown to gray. But really I look a lot younger than 60! Jude made a comment about a fine line between decay, abandonment, ruin etc. I see all of that in the story of this poor tobacco farm house. Tuesday night, Kevin came home and said there was a fire on Forestville Road and he had to go around to get home. I didn't think about it until I pulled up in front of the abandoned house that I photographed for the Abandoned theme week and realized that this was where the fire was. When I took the photo for abandoned week, I took the photos from near the road. Ricky suggested that it would be interesting to get a shot through the front door if safe to do so. But, I did a bad thing and tresspassed to get these shots. I should have known that the owners lived across the street but because of the steady decline of the house, I thought no one must live near by. I was done shooting and saw the owner of the property came from his house across the street. He asked me why I would disrespect the No Tresspassing sign. I said I didn't have an answer and apologized. I also started to cry, because that is what I do when I get confronted and because I was wrong to do what I did. I told him I usually take shots from the road and he said he was okay with that, but not with tresspassing. I told him I have been taking photos of the house since we moved to Forestville Farms 15 years ago. He said people always say they will give them photos but never do. I gave him my card and told him to email me. He hasn't yet and will see if he does. His daddy is still alive and says they should just tear down the house and the barns. They should because they aren't doing more than just posting a sign to keep people out. They sometimes still plant the field in front of the house. It also upsets me that there are people in our area who are destroying property this way (I ad

This is how the house looked about 13 years ago:

img_52071_ForestvilleRoadHouse_GoodShape

After the tornado in 2011:

TobaccoHouseAfterTornado

February 2015:

ruth-ellenFlanagan-abandoned_5855

Some close-ups after the fire Oct, 2015:

ruthEllenFlanagan_Decay_9028 Chimney

Tuesday night, Kevin came home and said there was a fire on Forestville Road and he had to go around to get home. I didn't think about it until I pulled up in front of the abandoned house that I photographed for the Abandoned theme week and realized that this was where the fire was. When I took the photo for abandoned week, I took the photo from near the road. Ricky suggested that it would be interesting to get a shot through the front door. And so, I did a bad thing and tresspassed to get these shots. And the owner of the property came from his house across the street and asked me why I would disrespect the No Tresspassing sign. I said I didn't have an answer and apologized. I also started to cry, because that is what I do when I get confronted and I was wrong to do what I did. I told him I usually take shots from the road and he said he was okay with that, but not with tresspassing. I told him I have been taking photos of the house since we moved to Forestville Farms 15 years ago. He said people always say they will give them photos but never do. I gave him my card and told him to email me. Will see if he does. His daddy is still alive and says they should just tear down the house and the barns. They should because they aren't doing more than just posting a sign to keep people out. They sometimes still plant the field in front of the house. It also upsets me that there are people in our area who are destroying other peoples property this way. I will never tresspass again - and I usually don't. To see more shots from this shoot, see my blog: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/ and my flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

ruthEllenFlanagan_Decay_8983 Tagged

Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2015
needlepointernc

Sue Bailey Donovan11 minutes ago
Lovely story and great shot. I love the color! Happy Birthday.

Sarah Ann Smith13 hours ago
The Wild Turkeys of Hope, Maine are doing the birthday stomp for you!

Shannon Grothe Hicks14 hours ago
What a great story to go with such a great photo. I agree with the others. It is so cheap to have prints made–it would be a very nice gesture to have a few printed up for the owner to show your good faith and it will likely make you feel better. I would ask if you could look for your lens also–maybe they already found it! Happy belated birthday to you….

Elizabeth Whitehead22 hours ago
This is a great story, when I did my abandoned shot, there was a no trespassing sign which I totally respected since where I took that particular photo could get shot. Sorry to hear you lost a lens. Other than that — this is a great photo, And a very Happy Birthday!
CharleneS23 hours ago
Happy Birthday Ruth and thank you for the great photo and story. Maybe leave a picture in his mailbox and he will return your lens.
labnurseon Oct 17
Happy 60th! It’s not so bad.

LaVetaJudeon Oct 17
Ruth-Ellen: I really had to chuckle at your tresspass story. I have been guity of the same thing. I always look for someone to ask but out in the country that is not so easy. Also being an old ranch girl I understand the touchy feelings about tresspassing. That being said – you got a great shot and I love the black and white.
Happy birthday dear one and just for you here is my rather creaky redition of Happy Birthday:
Happy Birthday to yooouuu.
Happy Birthday to Yuuoooo!
Happy Birthday dear Ruth-Ellen!
Happy Birthday to yuuuuooooo!

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanaganon Oct 17
We looked for the lens near where the car was parked (that is before the no-tresspassing sign) and couldn’t find it. I know I had it when I was walking back to the car. The property is all weeds and tall grass. Haven’t heard from the owner yet.

chrismaheron Oct 16
That’s quite a story. Sorry it caused such trouble but the resulting photo is quite spectacular.

cathybarrowon Oct 16
I like the way you added your own graffiti – without harming the actual house. This definitely portrays the theme of decay – both in the structure and in society. I agree with Monica – you should take him some pictures and see if he will let you hunt for your lens.

Leave a Reply

