Dreamscape with B&W and Color

2 10 2015

This week we are revisiting the dreamscape technique but adding a b&w background layer. I am not sure I see much of a big difference except in certain photos. The weather has hampered outdoor photos this week. But I managed to get one at the Buddhist Temple down the street.

It has been raining or cloudy all week. We are getting a storm before the possibility of getting some rain from Hurricane Joaquin. It is the peak of Hurrican season here and we haven't been hit in awhile. But I managed to get a shot of the front of the Buddhist Temple, which is up the street from us. I applied the HDR strong preset in Lightroom and then I used the infrared setting on the B&W layer and a gaussian blur around 50 in PSE. I burned in the upper-right and left corners. I had hoped to get some shots at the IBMA (International Bluegrass festival) here in Raleigh this weekend, but they moved everything into the convention center. I am not sure I really see what the b&W layer adds to the dreamscape technique on most photos. You can see some dreamscapes I did on some other photos taken at the previous IBMA shows on my blog: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/

It has been raining or cloudy all week. We are getting a storm before the possibility of getting some rain from Hurricane Joaquin. It is the peak of Hurrican season here and we haven’t been hit in awhile. But I managed to get a shot of the front of the Buddhist Temple, which is up the street from us. I applied the HDR strong preset in Lightroom and then I used the infrared setting on the B&W layer and a gaussian blur around 50 in PSE. I burned in the upper-right and left corners. I had hoped to get some shots at the IBMA (International Bluegrass festival) here in Raleigh this weekend, but they moved everything into the convention center. I am not sure I really see what the b&W layer adds to the dreamscape technique on most photos. 

Also took a photo of the last hydrangea bloom this season and used the dreamscape techinique on the image.

The one and only bloom on the hydrangea in October 2015. Used the dreamscape technique with a b&w and color layer. Used the HDR preset in Lightroom to add drama.

IMG_4139_BWDreamscape

Sir Walter Raleigh becomes the banjo stage in front of the Raleigh Convention Center for the IBMA conference. This is 2014 and someone had stolen his banjo. The 2015 show has had to move into the convention center because of all the rain we are getting this week. We are waiting to see if Hurricane Joaquin is going to hit the NC coast.

Used the infrared option on the background layer and then used the Dreamscape technique. Made the sky look ominous.

Used the infrared option on the background layer and then used the Dreamscape technique. Made the sky look ominous.

Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2015
needlepointernc

Debbie Sinclairon Oct 11
Amazing and great choice for this technique – I love the details, colour and composition!

Wendy Hodinaon Oct 03
The effect made this look like a pencil sketch. Really wonderful colors.

Leave a Reply

