Flowers/Macro

11 07 2015

It is a good week for flowers to be the theme. Lots in bloom around Raleigh this time of the year even with the heat. Went to the Plant Delights July Open House. Most of the gardens are in the shade so didn’t have to spend too much time in the sun. At least it wasn’t humid! I chose this photo for my class this week. It was a hard choice. You can see more photos on my flickr site: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

I don't have a macro lens, so took my zoom lens and my Lensbaby Muse lens and my regular lens with me to the open house at Plant Delights. They are only open 4 times a year to the public. Most of the gardens are in shade so it wasn't too bad and it wasn't muggy yet just hot. I took a lot of pictures and got a few that were good. But, I like the way this photo processed with Lightroom. You can see the original and the other flower pictures on my blog: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/ or on flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

I don’t have a macro lens, so took my zoom lens and my Lensbaby Muse lens and my regular lens with me to the open house at Plant Delights. They are only open 4 times a year to the public. Most of the gardens are in shade so it wasn’t too bad and it wasn’t muggy yet just hot. I took a lot of pictures and got a few that were good. But, I like the way this photo processed with Lightroom. Here is the original:

IMG_7683

This photo of a Pitcher Plant was my second choice:

Went to Plant Delights for their July Open House. The gardens are in South Raleigh and are the home of Tony Avent. He grows a lot of unusual plants. There are a lot of shade gardens on the property . This pitcher plant is in the boggy area with other carnivourous plants. I used PSE to select the plant and then inverted the selection so I could make the backfround B&W. I used the clone tool to even out the background. You can see more of my photos from the garden at: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/ or at my flickr site: https://www.flickr.com/photos/needlepointernc/

Here are few others that I liked:

Prickly

So hard to get a sharp sweet spot!

So hard to get a sharp sweet spot! Taken with my Lensbaby Muse Lens.

Taken with my Lensbaby Muse Lens. Open House at Plant Delights in Raleigh.

Taken with my Lensbaby Muse Lens.

Open House at Plant Delights.

Open House at Plant Delights.

Open House at Plant Delights.

Actions

Information

One response

17 07 2015
needlepointernc

Adrian Zissos on Jul 14
I can’t believe how fantastic this week’s images are! Here’s another unbelievably good one

Penny de Jong on Jul 11
So pretty & delicate – I love the B & W treatment! 🙂
rublicaton Jul 11
Beautiful. I like the edge treatment — looks like a notecard printed on expensive paper (languishing in somebody’s desk drawer waiting for the owner to quit being so tied to email.) jmitsch

Margaret McCrory on Jul 11
White on white. How beautiful!

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanagan on Jul 11
Border was added with Perfect Photo Suite. I had added a texture in the corners with the app, but it kept crashing my computer so gave. up. Anyone else using it? I suspect I don’t have enough memory or a new enough graphics card.

Leave a Reply

