Panning in Pullen Park

6 06 2015

It was a warm but not humid day in Raleigh, so I headed out to Pullen Park to see if I could get a good panning shot in the carousel. I took a lot of photos and got 4 that were decent. Two in the carousel and 2 of the train that runs around the park. Not my favorite technique. Maybe need more practice! Here is the best shot of the day:

It was a perfect day to go to Pullen Park in Raleigh. Sunny and low humidity. I took a lot of photos in the carousel, outside watcing the paddle boaters, and of the train. Got 4 photos that were not bad. I hard technique to master. I chose this photo because the carousel horse was in pretty good focus and the other riders and carousel animals were a blur. I really like the one I took of the train (check out my blog at https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/. I used Lightroom presets to bring out the texture of the horse and lighten the background a bit. I bought the GPS unit for my Canon camera. I do a lot of photography for Find A Grave and don't always have the plot information. You can click on the GPS data and see a live view on Google Maps. 35°46'45

The train photo isn’t as sharp, but I liked it enough to post.

It was a perfect day to go to Pullen Park in Raleigh. Sunny and low humidity. I took a lot of photos in the carousel, outside watcing the paddle boaters, and of the train. Got 4 photos that were not bad. I hard technique to master.  I really like the one I took of the train (check out my blog at https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/. I used Lightroom presets to isolate the red.

Opie and Andie were enjoying the sun as were the ducks and the geese:

IMG_7052 IMG_7020 IMG_7018

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 10 2015
needlepointernc

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanaganon Jun 07
Horses are not going up and down! I have been doing the blog since I started doing photo challenges. The Booksmart software that I used to make those photo books use to let you download the entire blog from WordPress into the software (I am not sure the new version does).

Adrian Zissoson Jun 07
That is a really nice blog – great idea to have one for the entire 52 week challenge so that you can look back on your thoughts and your images. The train is very nice – great colors. The horse is super difficult – not only going past you, but on a circular path and I assume the horse is also moving up and down on the pole. Way to go all-in 😉

IreneMIlleron Jun 06
What a great idea! This really shows the movement of the. Carousel.

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanaganon Jun 06
My ISO was high in this photo, but then I turned it down to 100. I used AI Servo and Continuous Shooting.

6 06 2015
danudin

Where are your shots from the horse’s back?

6 06 2015
Ruth-Ellen

I didn’t have a ticket!

Leave a Reply

