Mirror Montage

22 05 2015

We have tried mirror images in another lesson, but this is a different take on mirroring images. I dragged my bike out of the garage and dusted it off! Haven’t ridden it in awhile. I took pictures of the whole bike and close-ups of the pedal and the derailer. I chose this photo to submit for the class lesson:

The tires on my bicycle are flat because I haven't ridden it in awhile. But I thought it would make for some interesting mirror montages. This image is a close-up of the derailer. I flipped the second layer, but did not move it. I used Lightroom presets - Colorize Orange and HDR (Medium) to process the image. The bike was leaning up against our fence. You can see some other bike montages on my blog: https://needlepointernc.wordpress.com/

This image is a close-up of the derailer. I flipped the second layer, but did not move it. I used Lightroom presets – Colorize Orange and HDR (Medium) to process the image.

ruthEllenFlanagan-MirrorMontage_6651 ruthEllenFlanagan-MirrorMontage_6654Two other mirror montages of my bike. And a mirror montage of my biggest hydrangea bloom.

ruthEllenFlanagan-MirrorMontage_6637

Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2015
needlepointernc

rickytimson May 25
Yay for understanding how important a tripod can be! Obviously you can’ use it all the time – but when you can……. do!

rickytimson May 25
Photo of the Week – May 24, 2015

Debbie Sinclairon May 24
Brilliant – great clarity, lighting and so interesting!

Penny de Jongon May 23
I also love the machinery montages – yours is particularly good – love the colours in your limited palette – very striking! 🙂

chrismaheron May 23
What a great idea.

LaVetaJudeon May 22
Ruth Ellen: I find the mehcanical mirror montages to be so interesting. This is really good! Your photo is tack sharp and the colours are so clear.
Yes I am a convert to a sturdy tripod. I got one with a pistol grip last summer and it made all the difference. Another trick I learned was to set the timer to 2 seconds. That way you are not touch the camera when it goes off. This made all the difference in the world. Now if I could just remember to reset it!

Ruth-Ellen Burack Flanaganon May 22
PS… I have become a convert to the tripod. I took similar photos with and without the tripod and the tripod photos were sharp! Never thought I would say this :=) thank you Ricky!

Leave a Reply

