Lightroom, What Not To Do

31 01 2011

I was trying to move a folder in Lightroom, which I don’t think is an easy thing to do. Anyways, I somehow was asked if I wanted to merge the two folders… and I said yes. But that was a BIG mistake. I went down to eat dinner and when I came back Lightroom was still moving files. Somehow I had managed to tell Lightroom to move all of my files into one folder. BAD! I cancelled the process and went to Explorer to see what had happened. I thought my files had been deleted but in fact they were all in one folder. Explorer doesn’t like it when you have 11,000 files in one folder.

It took me two days to move all my files back to where they should be. Now I am trying to import them again into Lightroom or find they missing file locations. What a mess.

Moral of the story, never say Yes unless you really mean it!

Actions

Information

7 responses

3 02 2011
KarenAnn

Sometimes the questions asked are not too clear either for the Yes or No answer. Not always obvious! And then there’s the matter of the different levels of selection. You might have something selected and not realize it. It can be very confusing!

3 02 2011
needlepointernc

I figured out what happened. I was trying to move a subfolder up to the top level of my directory in Lightroom and it asked me if I want to merge the whole directory with the directory I was trying to move… but not thinking that it meant that I clicked Yes and went downstairs. It only moved 11,000 files out of my 35,000 files. You can merge subfolders this way, but I don’t think it is meant to let you move a subfolder to the top directory.

2 02 2011
KarenB

What a nightmare! I’m such a newbie at Lightroom – it is so powerful and so much to learn. I love it… but I’m timid about making changes.

2 02 2011
Jobascraps

I am using the organizer in photshop elements & it too is very toutchy .Alot of people are using ASeeDCee(spelling?) & I am wondering if that would be the way to go.

2 02 2011
needlepointernc

Lightroom is a lot more than just an organizer. You can edit pictures too. I stopped using the Elements Organizer in previous versions because it stopped working in Windows Vista. I like Lightroom a lot, it just isn’t easy to move a folder and I shouldn’t have done what I did 🙂

1 02 2011
needlepointernc

I also lost all the edits I did on the 365 photos that I posted. Somehow? Don’t know how, but I know that I didn’t export the changes like I usually do. I got lazy. So, won’t do that anymore either.

31 01 2011
danudin

I must admit that I would have done something similar if I had lightroom, many will benefit from your mistake (Hopefully) good job sharing! Only 11,000, Explorer isn’t very robust is it! LOL

Leave a Reply

