Day 330 365 Photos Theme #207 On My Table

27 11 2009

On My Table, originally uploaded by needlepointernc.

This is the turkey that was ON MY TABLE for Thanksgiving Day. It just came out of the oven and needs to rest before we begin carving. It is a fresh turkey from Whole Foods and is moist and tasty. The best part for me is my Mom’s famous Ritz Cracker Stuffing. I love it. I can eat it cold for breakfast the next day!

This year I give thanks for finding so many of the lost Burack cousins. It has been exciting getting in touch with many of them. I never knew that some of my great-grandparents brothers and one sister never made it out of Trochenbrod, Ukraine and died in 1942 when the Nazi’s destroyed the whole town. No one ever talked about this. Some also died in the Pogroms of 1920 and 1921 (Read Babi Yar).

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 11 2009
Tammy McChesney

I have to admit, I am on turkey overload today! 🙂

How cool about finding out more about your family tree, I have been trying to do a bit of that here and there but haven’t really gotten anywhere! Very cool meeting relatives you have never met too, hope you are keeping a great journal to pass it down.

27 11 2009
Donna

looks like a tasty bird! not heard of Ritz cracker stuffing before–sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

