Day 135 365 Photos Theme #148 Historic

15 05 2009

Sir Walter Raleigh is an HISTORIC figure here in Raleigh, NC. You may remember that Sir Walter appeared on another day, but he has moved to his latest and hopefully final resting spot in front of the new convention center.


I used Lightroom Preset WOW-Edge-04 and Antique 10 to get this effect. I shot this from inside the Convention Center. Nice buns there Walter.

I took this shot today when I went to the National Genealogy Conference that is being held in Raleigh this week. I went to check out the vendors. Ancestrry.com had a booth and so did the Mormon Library familysearch.org site.

I used l Lightroom to take out most of the color. For some reason, flickr seems to change the way some of the images look. Not sure why. This image had more of the bronze color in it before I uploaded it. This is a jpg of the RAW file.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 05 2009
KarenB

I like the light and the texture on the first photo. It really captures the sculpture nicely. Did you learn anything interesting at the Genealogy Conference?

17 05 2009
needlepointernc

I only went to the vendor area. I got info about an online certificate program that BU has. It is just a semester worth of courses. May check it out. I found some old postcards of Worcester and Boston at one of the old book booths.

15 05 2009
Kerri

These are neat shots. I especially like the first one. The way you captured the detail in the sculpture is great!

15 05 2009
tmcchesney

I really love the 2nd image – the processing turned out great – maybe you lost some of the bronze coloring when you re sized it? At any rate, I think it really turned out great – and I agree, great buns Sir Walter! (You know you been married to long when….) LOL

Leave a Reply

