Day 77 365 Photos Theme #189 Moving

18 03 2009

Falls of Neuse Moving

Originally uploaded by needlepointernc

I stopped by the Falls Dam spillway today cause we had 4 days of rain and I thought that the Corps of Engineers might be releasing some water into the Neuse River. Sometimes the water is MOVING or sometimes it is flat. Today it was moving. I didn’t notice the cool tree in the foreground when I took the picture because I was trying not to slip on the rocks.

Here is a similar shot that is not cropped. I cropped the other shot close, cause I liked just the tree and the moving water behind it. If you enlarge the cropped image, I think the moving water is more evident. But because there isn’t much DOF, yes the tree does dominate a bit.

This is the spillway under the dam from where the water comes out of Falls Lake. It is controlled by the engineers to balance the lake levels and the need for water downstream.

Actions

Information

10 responses

18 03 2009
Madelaine

Thanks for the tip about the Parrots….I’ll see about it at Neflix.

18 03 2009
KarenB

I like the tree with the moving water – and I like the one of the spillway with the two spectators even better. I was going to tag you but Lorri beat me to it!

18 03 2009
Iona

Thanks for the posting the other photo. Everything is evident now. Great shot!! I like the larger photo better.

18 03 2009
needlepointernc

I cropped this pic and maybe the tree became more of a focus. I posted another pic that wasn’t cropped. Also, if you look at this picture enlarged, you see the water more. My pictures are all uploaded to flickr at 300 DPI and WordPress I think makes them lower res. If you click on my images, it will take you to my flickr page and then you can click on All Sizes and see a large image.

18 03 2009
Iona

When I opened this photo, I thought the shot was of the tree. I didn’t even see the water behind. Then, it was like it was an additional thought, not the subject of the photo. I know that PS has features to enhance subjects like this, so the water would have been more noticeable. Since I’m just a novice at any of this, I can’t tell you where to go or what to select, but I know they are there. I was disappointed that the water wasn’t more noticeable. Yet, I do like the tree. It may not be birch as it does not look like any birch I’ve seen in the NW. Yet, I am certain there are many more of the species that I am not aware of.

18 03 2009
Madelaine

Clever interpretation & great shot!

18 03 2009
Lorri

And you have been tagged to play the current photo blog game.

Here are the rules:
•Go to your photo folder on your computer
•Go to the 6th folder of photos
•Go to the sixth picture
•Put the picture on your blog and a description of it
•Invite six friends to join the challenge
•Link them in your blog

18 03 2009
Lorri

I would guess it to be a white birch too. It’s a lovely shot whatever sort of tree it happens to be! Great way to use the “moving” theme.

18 03 2009
needlepointernc

Anyone know what kind of tree this is? I don’t know if it is a birch? There aren’t many birches around here. It is a peeling bark though.

18 03 2009
tmcchesney

Glad you didn’t slip, but even more glad you got this image – how beautiful! Love the white birch (?) in the foreground – makes for a really interesting image!

Leave a Reply

